Tags

, , , ,

Tell Me Why?

“A dream is your creative vision for your life in the future. You must break out of your current comfort zone and become comfortable with the unfamiliar and the unknown.” – Denis Waitley
 
I have always been very passionate about science. Through my entire school life I’ve focussed on courses like physics, chemistry and biology. I believe the biggest influence in this matter would be my family. My dad being an engineer has always showed us the marvels of designing and creation. My mother has always focussed on the new developments in medicine and life sciences while my brother has been constructing satellites and space ship models ever since I can remember. I remember my first encyclopedia-type book – “Tell Me Why”. I am quite astonished at the limited number who are familiar with that book. It answered questions that would normally frustrate a young mind. Like why is the hare different from the rabbit? Why do we dream? Why do stars twinkle?
 
Being a hyper kid, I would only resort to reading that book when everyone was taking an afternoon nap and I wasn’t allowed to play outdoors cause of the heat or be able to play with my building blocks cause of the noise they I made. But once submerged in that world of answers, I would spend hours learning about a variety of topics and subjects. Why can’t light escape from a black hole? Why did the dinosaurs become extinct? Why is fire hot? I guess you do get the gist of it 😛 I happen to get over-excited reminiscing about the good old things 🙂
 
I am still quite passionate about science and hence would love to start a business that progresses our scientific knowledge base and brings us one step closer to the future. However, after not studying any of the subjects that aroused my interest for a little over 5 years now and not being able to comprehend all the terminology that is inherent in those articles, I wonder if it would be the right business for me personally? Will I be able to understand to the full extent the vision and mission of the company? Will I be respected enough by accomplished scientists and experts in the field for them to oblige to my decisions? Will I be capable of making the best business decision giving my limited exposure to the field?
 
Most of the companies that are being founded successfully these days are headed by renowned experts in that industry or have some sort of competitive advantage. Admittedly, I, very early on had understood that your financial capability should never be considered a constraint for a new venture. I’ve often wondered how an individual can manage and lead a group of brilliant minds to reach a common goal without any subject matter expertise. Resourcefulness, relationship management and leadership may be the effective tools to have in any given scenario but are they enough to sustain your business? Please let me know your thoughts and/or suggestions! 🙂
I always appreciate good advice and if you ever have had a similar thought, what sort of approach have you taken in tackling such a problem? Would you talk to certain motivated individuals in the field you are gearing towards or would you consider already established business models and see where you can improve efficiency?
 
 
“I would rather be surrounded by smart people than have a huge budget. Smart people will get you there faster.” – Ethan Rasiel
